Uncategorized

Seek His Will

Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.  

Proverbs 3:6, NLT

gucci_or_school2

The other day I was hanging out with my friends (i.e. reading Facebook) and these two stories were posted within a couple hours of each other.  Normally I wouldn’t have thought anything about it but something made me notice that each post referenced $60.

I was instantly angered at the thought that someone would actually spend $60 for something to carry a baby bottle.  A USED baby bottle carrier.  Presumably, someone spent $225 when it was new.  For a baby bottle carrier!  Seriously?

Then God did what he normally does and smacked me in the face as he reminded me of all the “baby bottle carriers” I’m willing to spend $60 on or even $225 on.  We all have choices in what we do with the things God has given us.   Some  Most choose to use the blessings God has entrusted to us on selfish things the world tells us we MUST HAVE.  In fact most believe that they somehow earned those things.  I know I did.  I mean every year I have to tell the government how much I earned.  I think this year I’m going to scratch out the word earnings and write God’s Blessings.  Or maybe not, that’d probably guarantee an audit and I may or may not have always given to Caesar that which is Caesar’s (sorry Jesus).

God tells us in Psalms 24:1 that while we may think we own things, we OWN nothing.  “The earth is the Lord’s and all it contains, the world, and those who dwell in it.”  It’s all on loan to us from God and it’s intended to be used for HIS will.  We pray every week that YOUR will be done and then most of us head out and spend the rest of the week doing OUR will.  Luckily there are some, like the Sullivans, who choose the narrow path and ask God what HE wants them to do with HIS things and because they did two girls are going to be able to go to school this year.  I’m sure they’d be heartbroken if I told them for the same price they could have had a GUCCI water bottle carrier.

What are you choosing to do with the things God has entrusted to you?  We’re all stewards, low level managers.  God gives us things so that we can do His will with them.  Are you asking God for direction on how to spend your money or are you spending it on “Gucci Bottle Carriers”?

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:19-21

