Devotional

Living out God’s big picture.

Okay now first of all, I am so excited about our new family pictures.  My friend Erin took some pictures of our family this weekend for our prayer cards that we are about to make.  YEAH!  I was super excited about getting new family pictures.  The boys, well, not so much.

I mean seriously, they just don’t do what I say half the time.  Obviously, I knew what was best – stand still, look at the camera, and smile.  It seemed simple enough to me, but you try taking family pictures with three boys ages 10, 8 and 7 — Oh me, oh my.  Seriously; if you just cooperate, we could be done in minutes.  There are no words to describe my frustration when I finally got two of them to cooperate only to have the third one get silly.  I know they heard me; they just didn’t choose to listen and obey.  They just didn’t like it.  They just didn’t understand why.  My thoughts were, “Oh don’t my kids love me enough to trust me that if they follow my instructions it will be worth it in the end?”

Let me be honest.  All I wanted is the end picture to be one we will all treasure years from now.  Okay, really I wanted a picture that would say – this family has it together.  I mean this mom is awesome – her kids listen, always obey and still have so much fun.  Surely that’s what a good missionary candidate’s family is like right??  A picture to make others want to take time out of their day to pray for us and support us on this journey. I thought I saw the big picture of this quick photo shoot.

That got me thinking that I bet that is how God sees me sometimes.  Luckily God knows what picture He is creating with our life. He sees the big picture – past, present and future.  I only see myself in an uncomfortable situation being expected to step out of my comfort zone.  He may ask me to be still and wait a moment for his next instruction.  He may ask me to keep on a smile to work with the children at church when I just want to go home to relax or feel like I would be more productive doing something different. He may ask for me to give financially to a cause when I want a new pair of shoes. He may not offer us bribes like I do my children at times, but hearing and living out His will for our lives will bless us beyond measure.  All our disobedience only causes frustration to the big picture of our lives for Christ.

Can you live life trusting that God sees the big picture? First, we must spend time with the Lord in prayer, in the Word, and in fellowship with other believers to learn to hear God’s voice.  Next, we must trust the Lord at all times.  Then, we must forsake our perspective even when we don’t understand or like what is going on around us.  Be assured that God sees, knows, and cares about you. If we knew what God knows, we wouldn’t want to change a thing.

Two Bible verses come to mind when I think of this idea of living out the big picture:

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD,

plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

and

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Now, I can’t wait for you to see not only our new pictures but our prayer cards!

IMGP0711-MOTION

1 thought on “Living out God’s big picture.”

Leave a Reply - We would love to hear from you.

